Tuesday, 14 October 2014

Andres Iniesta wins 2014 Golden Foot award ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo, Wayne Rooney and more ...

The award is only applicable to players in world football that are over the age of 28 and has previously been won by Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Ryan Giggs and Didier Drogba.

Andres Iniesta was named as the best over-28 football player for 2014 when he won the Golden Foot award on Monday evening.
The iconic Barcelona star is the first player from his club ever to win the lucrative gong, which has previously been won by some of football's biggest names.
Iniesta stood on stage in Monaco and planted his feet into a pool of gold to create a mould, which will be placed in the 'Champions promenade' along Monaco's seafront.
After attending the lucrative ball with his girlfriend Anna Ortiz, the 30-year-old tweeted a thank you message for the people who voted for him.
The Golden Foot award is voted for via an online poll but can only be won once in a players' career. Previous winners of the award include Ryan Giggs and Didier Drogba.
A panel of journalists select the ten nominees every year, based on achievements on and off the football pitch.
Wayne Rooney, Cristiano Ronaldo and Yaya Toure were just some of the other names nominated for the award this year, but due to their age will have other chances to win the coveted prize.

Previous Golden Foot winners

2003 Roberto Baggio
2004 Pavel Nedved
2005 Andriy Shevchenko
2006 Ronaldo
2007 Alessandro Del Piero
2008 Roberto Carlos
2009 Ronaldinho
2010 Francesco Totti
2011 Ryan Giggs
2012 Zlatan Ibrahimovic
2013 Didier Drogba
2014 Andreas Iniesta


No comments:

Post a Comment